Dish!Blog logo

Standards for Absorbent Products

Erika Kramer
Erika Kramer | April 15, 2014


In 2012, a council headed by the National Association for Continence (NAFC), which included manufacturer, government agency, nursing and family caregiving representatives, recommended national quality performance standards for absorbent products with the goal of reducing wasteful costs and improving care for residents.

The recommendations cover the following eight characteristics:

1. Rewet rate – a measure of a product’s ability to withstand incontinent episodes between changes

2. Rate of acquisition – a measure of the speed at which urine is drawn away from the skin 

3. Retention capacity – a measure of a product’s capacity to hold fluid 

4. Sizing options 

5. Safety 

6. Presence of a closure system 

7. Breathable zones 

8. Performance of elastics 

Manufacturers undoubtedly use these characteristics to guide them in product research and development. Our vendor partner First Quality®, for example, recently introduced their new Breezers360°™ Briefs, which are named for their 360° Breathable Zones™.

Thanks to these types of standards, then, new and innovative products can be developed that help healthcare facilities provide the best quality of life and care for their residents.




Questions or comments about this article? Feel free to contact us!


SideDish! for Martin Bros. Customers

SideDish! is delivered to your inbox every month and gives you access to tips and trends to make your business more efficient and profitable throughout the entire year. You'll learn from the experts specific to your industry including, healthcare, medical supplies, restaurant supply, janitorial supply, large kitchen equipment, restaurant marketing and more!

Become a Customer